Maine Auto Insurance Quotes
Car Insurance Quote Now
At HomeInsurance.com, our customers know that we are not just home insurance. We offer some of the most competitive auto insurance rates and home and auto insurance discounts available. Finally, finding competitive, low cost car insurance quotes in Maine does not have to be a chore. Fill out one form and our licensed agents will match you with the Maine auto insurance provider that offers the best rate for your vehicle and your drivers.
Did you know? The average Maine auto insurance premium in December 2011 was $0.00 for a 12-month policy. It appears that rates have increased since November 2011 when average rates in Maine were around $0.00 for a 12-month policy.
Did you know? The average Maine auto insurance premium in December was $0.00 for a 12-month policy.The average Maine car insurance rate in 2008 was $0.00. It appears that rates have increased over the past 3 years, so make sure you shop your Maine auto insurance policy today.
Average Premiums for Auto Insurance In Maine
|Dec 2011||Nov 2011||Oct 2011||Sep 2011||Aug 2011|
Since rates have increased in recent months, it’s important to continue to save money and find great coverage on Maine auto insurance. Be sure to ask your Maine car insurance agent about a Home-Auto Discount which can save you up to 25% or more on your home and auto insurance. Also, check your coverages on a regular basis to make sure you have enough auto insurance coverage in the event of a accident or other claim.
Maine Homeowners Insurance News
Maine Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements
Bodily Injury: Maine drivers are required by law to carry a minimum of $50,000 of bodily injury coverage with a maximum of $100,000 per accident. Bodily injury coverage provides for lost wages, funeral expenses and medical expenses in the event of an accident where injuries are sustained.
Property Damage: Drivers in Maine must carry a minimum of $25,000 in property damage liability coverage for every owned vehicle. This coverage protects drivers from damages caused to private and public property damaged in an accident.
Maine Recommended Coverages
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage- a type of insurance which pays for the damages caused by uninsured and underinsured drivers.
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage- a type of insurance coverage which pays for damages caused by storms and other natural disasters
Another way to save money on Maine car insurance premiums is to take advantage of auto insurance discounts that can save you money in your area. Read more about the Maine Home-Auto Discount.
Auto Insurance Tools and Tips:
- Auto Insurance Quiz- Why do you really pay what you do for auto insurance? Quiz yourself!
- Teen Driver Contract- Download our free teen driver contract and start protecting your teens on the road today.
- Car Insurance RateReport: See how your premiums add up against other drivers in the country with our interactive RateReport map.
Maine Most Stolen Vehicles
Some specific vehicle models are known for being more commonly stolen than others. Owning one of these vehicles may affect your auto insurance rates. Check out the most commonly stolen vehicles in Maine:
The Top 10 Most Stolen Vehicles in Maine
Chevrolet Full Size C/K 1500 Pickup
Ford F150 Series
Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
Pontiac Grand Am
Source: — 2007 National Insurance Crime Bureau.
Maine Driver Licensing Rules/Regulations:
Laws about licensing new drivers vary per state and are unique in Maine. Drivers shopping for Maine teen auto insurance should review the laws regarding young drivers in their state. A summary of Maine young driver and driver licensing regulations are listed below, as per the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS):
|To earn a Maine learners permit you must be of this minimum age:||15|
|Before getting a Maine drivers license you must have a learners permit for:||6 months|
|Also, you must have this minimum amount of supervised driving time:||35 hours, 5 of which must be at night|
|To earn a Maine driver's license you must be of the minimum age:||16|
|During your restricted license stage, you are not allowed to drive between:||midnight-5 am|
|Also, you are required to comply with the following passenger restrictions:||first 180 days?no passengers|
|The minimum age at which your restricted nighttime hours may be lifted in Maine is:||16, 6 months|
|The minimum age at which your passenger restrictions may be lifted in Maine is:||16, 6 months|
Shop HomeInsurance.com for the lowest rates and best coverage for your vehicles. Simply enter your zip code above to start your customized car insurance quote and let our auto insurance agents qualify you for all available discounts in Maine.
Search for auto insurance in your Maine county:
For additional information about specific auto insurance laws in Maine, visit the Maine Bureau of Insurance website.