Alabama Auto Insurance
The HomeInsurance.com name may suggest that we only sell home insurance, but our goal is to get people the coverage they need for their cars as well. So if you're looking for a new Alabama auto insurance policy, you've come to the right place.
To meet state laws, you must have bodily injury and property damage liability insurance to help pay for accidents you cause. Alabama auto insurance laws require the following minimum coverage:
- $25,000 coverage for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 coverage for total injury per accident
- $25,000 coverage for property damage
Alabama is one of 30 states with 25/50 bodily injury liability requirements, so requirements fall right within the national average.
When choosing your liability coverage, you may want to consider purchasing more than the minimum. Why? Because if you're in an accident that exceeds the 25/50/25 values, you will be responsible for paying all remaining costs out of pocket. A small increase in your Alabama auto insurance coverage could prevent a major financial loss.
Optional coverages you should consider include uninsured/underinsured motorists protection and collision and comprehensive protections.
Get Alabama auto insurance discounts
Depending on the insurance provider, you may be eligible for the following price breaks:
- Defensive driver discount: Only for drivers age 55 or older
- Driver training discount
- Good student discount: For full-time students or recent graduates age 25 or younger, except married females
- Homeowners discount
- Mature driver discount: For drivers age 75 or older
- Multiple line bundle discount
- Multiple vehicle discount
- Passive restraint and airbag discount
- Premium paid-in-full discount
- Safe driving discount
- Vehicle safety discount