1-877-295-3422 HomeHQ

Auto Insurance News

Recent News about Auto Insurance

NHTSA announces 2012 vehicles that will undergo five-star safety review

Oct 17, 2011

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration recently announced the list of model year 2012 passenger vehicles that will go through testing under the agency's five-star safety ratings program.

Altogether, 74 vehicles - 42 passenger cars, 22 sport utility vehicles, 2 vans and 8 pickup trucks - with the model year 2012 will be analyzed for safety considerations.

While the five-star ratings program has been in place for 30 years, the testing process was reconstructed last year, heightening the stringency under which cars are reviewed for safety.

"Our five-star ratings program is a critical resource to help consumers make the best possible decisions about the cars they want to buy," said Ray LaHood, U.S. secretary for the Department of Transportation. "By revamping the tests and creating a more rigorous program last year, we raised the bar on safety for all vehicle manufacturers. People should remember: more stars, safer cars."

Among several factors, one of the ways auto insurance companies determine rates for vehicles is how safe they're considered to be. The NHTSA and the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety are two of the industry standards in terms of safety reviews.

Call now and speak to a licensed agent: 1-877-295-3422