Vermont Auto Insurance Quotes
Car Insurance Quote Now
At HomeInsurance.com, our customers know that we are not just home insurance. We offer some of the most competitive auto insurance rates and home and auto insurance discounts available. Finally, finding competitive, low cost car insurance quotes in Vermont does not have to be a chore. Fill out one form and our licensed agents will match you with the Vermont auto insurance provider that offers the best rate for your vehicle and your drivers.
Did you know? The average Vermont auto insurance premium in February 2014 was $658.00 for a 12-month policy. It appears that rates have decreased since January 2014 when average rates in Vermont were around $707.00 for a 12-month policy.
Average Premiums for Auto Insurance In Vermont
|Feb 2014||Jan 2014||Dec 2013||Nov 2013||Oct 2013|
Though rates have decreased in recent months, it’s important to continue to save money and find great coverage on Vermont auto insurance. Be sure to ask your Vermont car insurance agent about a Home-Auto Discount which can save you up to 25% or more on your home and auto insurance. Also, check your coverages on a regular basis to make sure you have enough auto insurance coverage in the event of a accident or other claim.
Vermont Homeowners Insurance News
Report: 1 in 7 U.S. drivers uninsuredMonday, April 25, 2011
Vermont Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements
Bodily Injury: Vermont drivers are required by law to carry a minimum of $25,000 of bodily injury coverage with a maximum of $50,000 per accident. Bodily injury coverage provides for lost wages, funeral expenses and medical expenses in the event of an accident where injuries are sustained.
Property Damage: Drivers in Vermont must carry a minimum of $20,000 in property damage liability coverage for every owned vehicle. This coverage protects drivers from damages caused to private and public property damaged in an accident.
Vermont Recommended Coverages
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage- a type of insurance which pays for the damages caused by uninsured and underinsured drivers.
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage- a type of insurance coverage which pays for damages caused by storms and other natural disasters
Another way to save money on Vermont car insurance premiums is to take advantage of auto insurance discounts that can save you money in your area.
Auto Insurance Tools and Tips:
- Auto Insurance Quiz- Why do you really pay what you do for auto insurance? Quiz yourself!
- Teen Driver Contract- Download our free teen driver contract and start protecting your teens on the road today.
- Car Insurance RateReport: See how your premiums add up against other drivers in the country with our interactive RateReport map.
Vermont Most Stolen Vehicles
Some specific vehicle models are known for being more commonly stolen than others. Owning one of these vehicles may affect your auto insurance rates. Check out the most commonly stolen vehicles in Vermont:
The Top 10 Most Stolen Vehicles in Vermont
Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
Source: — 2007 National Insurance Crime Bureau.
Vermont Driver Licensing Rules/Regulations:
Do you know Vermont's laws on texting and driving and how long a child must be in a safety restraint? How about the minimum auto insurance liability requirements?
- Texting while driving banned
- Child restraint through age 7
- Liability minimum requirement: 25/50/10*
- * Liability insurance coverage limits indicate how much of each type of liability coverage you could receive in a maximum payout after an accident and are typically expressed in the following 3-number ratio:Bodily injury coverage per person/Bodily injury coverage per incident/Property damage per incident
Think you know everything about auto laws in Vermont? Did you know this?
In Burlington, hitchhiking is a crime.
Laws about licensing new drivers vary per state and are unique in Vermont. Drivers shopping for Vermont teen auto insurance should review the laws regarding young drivers in their state. A summary of Vermont young driver and driver licensing regulations are listed below, as per the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS):
|To earn a Vermont learners permit you must be of this minimum age:||15|
|Before getting a Vermont drivers license you must have a learners permit for:||1 year|
|Also, you must have this minimum amount of supervised driving time:||40 hours, 10 of which must be at night|
|To earn a Vermont driver's license you must be of the minimum age:||16|
|During your restricted license stage, you are not allowed to drive between:||none|
|Also, you are required to comply with the following passenger restrictions:||first 3 months-no passengers without exception; second 3 months-no passengers except family members|
|The minimum age at which your restricted nighttime hours may be lifted in Vermont is:||no|
|The minimum age at which your passenger restrictions may be lifted in Vermont is:||16, 6 months|
Shop HomeInsurance.com for the lowest rates and best coverage for your vehicles. Simply enter your zip code above to start your customized car insurance quote and let our auto insurance agents qualify you for all available discounts in Vermont.
For additional information about specific auto insurance laws in Vermont, visit the Vermont Department of Insurance website.